‘Kaliyuga’ – new version performed in Huddersfield, UK

St Paul’s Hall, Huddersfield, England 5th Nov 2003.

First performance of a new version of Kaliyuga.

Catalyst Ensemble conducted by Stephen M Barchan.

More info about Kaliyuga here!

Stephen Mark Barchan – conductor
Naomi Downing – alto flute
Ruth Hiles – bass clarinet
Lisa Sarasini – trombone
Paula Wilson – marimba
Joe Weaver – vibraphone

‘Kaliyuga’ – First performance by the Diabelli Ensemble

Kaliyuga for chamber ensemble – first performance.
Commissioned by Levande Musik as a part of their Diabelli project 2001.

More info about Kaliyuga here!

Diabelli Ensemble:
Gunno Palmquist – conductor
Malin Nordlöf – alto flute
Henrik Nordqvist – bass clarinet
Daniel Berg – marimba
Fredrik Duvling (Andersson) – vibraphon
Joar Skorpen – violin

Concert Hall, Artisten, Academy of Music and Drama, Göteborg 11th March 2001.

Affisch - Diabelli-projektet ver1


Version 1 – alto flute, bass clarinet, violin, marimba, vibraphone
2001-03-11 Academy of Music and Drama, Göteborg, Swedenthe Diabelli Ensemble – First performance
2003-12-05 Conservatorio di Musica, Perugia, ItalyEnsemble Di Musica Contemporanea

Version 2 – alto flute, bass clarinet, trombone, marimba, vibraphone
2003-11-05 St. Pauls Hall, Huddersfield, UKCatalyst Ensemble – First performance

In Kaliyuga I have taken a fragment from one of my solo pieces for flute (Di lá dal fiume e tra gli alberi), here played by the bass clarinet, and letting it be broken as light through a prism and mirrored in the parts played by the other instruments.
The piece is a commission from the association Levande Musik for the Diabelli Project 2001.

Kaliyuga, according to Hindu scriptures, is the time period in which we are now and which is the worst of the four changing world ages. It began February 18, 3102 BC.