‘Moo’ [chamber orchestra] – First performance @Artisten

Ensemble Hall, Artisten, Academy of Music and Drama. Göteborg, 6th April 1995

Ensemble For New Music at the Academy:
Einar Nielsen – conductor
Jens Johansson – flute
Per Bengtsson/Johan Nilsson – oboe
Tobias Andersson – clarinet
Sue Haag/Daniel Öhrberg – bassoon
Anders Danielsson – horn
Anna Jansson – violin I
Claudia Bonfiglioli – violin II
Catarina Skoog – viola
Marius Knudsen Flatby – bass
Hans-Christian Green – percussion

More info about Moo here!

On the concert program was also music by Jorge Alcaide, Mauricio Garay and Henrik Martén.


Version 1 – 2 violoncelli – 1994

Version 2 – chamber orchestra (flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, bassoon, percussion, violin 1, violin 2, viola, cello, bass) – 1995
1995-04-06 Academy of Music and Drama, Göteborg – Ensemble for New Music – first performance
1996-10-22 UNM, Copenhagen – Ensemble Ars Nova

Version 3 – 2 violins – 2002

Durata 6’30”

Moo (eg. Mō) comes from Japanese and means already/soon/again. The piece is initially a duet for two celli and the main idea is two parts that try to get as close together as it goes within the usual chromatic tone system. They never play the same tone except at the end when they both land on a quarter note raised A, midway between A and A#. However, it is an octave apart – the same tone but still not.